RSS Feed

How much sunshine?

Do you get enough sunshine? Especially now that the days are getting shorter?

Here’s a nifty map I came across that shows how much sun you need each day to keep your vitamin D at a healthy level. You may be surprised at how many rays you’ll need to catch – especially if, like me, you live South. So, get outta here and into that sun!

About Kathleen Murphy

Australian naturopath and freelance writer, based in Sydney. I love working with people from all walks of life, helping them institute changes that can become life-long health habits. I can be found at Uclinic | 421 Bourke Street, Surry Hills | Ph: 02 9332 0400 |

8 responses »

  1. Reblogged this on lifes a little nutrition and commented:
    Great article on the Vitamin D expose you need from the sun in summer. Remember the Vitamin D from the sun is very different to synthetic Vitamin D you get in supplements (which can have very adverse effects) so the natural stuff from the sun is best!

    Reply
  2. tessafinneybrown

    Kathleen, what do you think are the optimal Vitamin D levels to aim for?

    Reply
  3. Hey, I think its a bit of a evidence free zone? Very high levels rarely cause any toxicity and very low levels are needed to alter calcium homeostasis and increase ALP and PTH. I always tell people similar – that is to aim around 100 but what is the evidence for this?
    What do you think in chronic renal failure. I always wonder if I should push the levels higher due to poor conversion or just give calcitriol instead. Any thoughts?

    Reply
    • Hey Stuart, yes indeed evidence is scanty and conflicting re: vitamin D. An interesting area! I know practitioners who push for > 120 in patients, with good results, but I’m happy with 100.
      I don’t have experience working with chronic renal failure so I don’t have a ready answer for vitamin D +/- calcitriol… will have to look into it. Do you push for higher vit D currently for hypothetical? You’ve got me thinking…

      Reply
  4. Pingback: In the summertime… you have these good living tips on your mind. | The Wellness Ninja

Leave a Reply

