RSS Feed

Stop eating processed food

I mean it. Stop it.

This is my message for today (and always).

Do not eat this.

Eat as close to nature – i.e. fresh – as you can.

Snack on foods like this…

Why? Because it’s good for you and I said so.

Nibble on these..

About Kathleen Murphy

Australian naturopath and freelance writer, based in Sydney. I love working with people from all walks of life, helping them institute changes that can become life-long health habits. I can be found at Uclinic | 421 Bourke Street, Surry Hills | Ph: 02 9332 0400 |

2 responses »

  1. For the most part, we eat fresh and local fruits and vegetables from our own garden or from the farmers markets. We take great pride in what we have been able to accomplish, but as someone who suffers from Crohn’s disease, I have had to resort to processing nearly all the food I eat. There are some exceptions, but for the most part, I need to cook all plant based foods and avoid many whole grains. Do you know of any options I might have so I can enjoy unprocessed food as well?

    Reply
  2. Sounds like a wonderful diet! I wish we grew more food at home, but we’ve only got herbs and flowers in our tiny courtyard .. and source the rest from local markets.
    I guess when I say processed foods, I don’t mean cooked or cured, but rather foods that have been synthetically altered or ‘enhanced’, pre-packaged and filled with preservatives. I have no issue with cooked food, particularly if it’s what you need to do in order to digest comfortably.
    How do you go with fermented foods or pickles? That’s a great way to ‘non-cook’ foods and breaks them down a little so that they’re easier to digest. Plus (I think) tastes good.
    Yeah, grains can be hard to digest. Soaking / sprouting can help, but sometimes it’s easier to steer clear. You’ve just got to do what works best for you. Sounds like you’re pretty in tune with what you need.
    BTW – I really like your site – you guys have some awesome stuff on there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

