RSS Feed

Eating animals.

Well, I always knew he was primal, but my husband’s turning paleolithic.

A vegetarian for many years, he’s been feeling increasingly like he needs more protein and less carbohydrates… particularly at the tail-end of a busy year and in the lead-up to a PhD submission. So, turning his previous diet on its head, Jon’s going to go paleo… i.e. eat like a caveman. What does that mean? Well… lots of fresh fruit and veg, nuts and seeds, as well as plenty of (free-range) meat, poultry and fish. No grains, no refined carbs.

As a fellow vegetarian and nutrition-fiend I felt outraged at first that he wouldn’t let me design a meat-free menu. Outraged!

However, the more I learn about primal nutrition the more I like it. Although eating meat is not something I can do, I dig the principles – ones I can adapt to a meat-free diet. In the meantime, for all you omnivores out there, it might be something worth considering.

So… now we’re learning to cook meat again – a skill that’s been shelved for well over a decade. But before we even get started on cooking we have to get savvy to buying. And, if I’m going to have meat/fish/poultry in the house, it’s going to be as ethically and naturally produced as possible. You’d better believe it.

Where to go for that? Well here are our preferred local suppliers:

Vive Organic Market in Hawthorne

Sourced Grocer in Teneriffe

The Meating Place in Paddington

Happily, these guys (even the last one – despite their name) sell more than just meat and have a bountiful supply of many tasty, organic and (in most cases) locally sourced food. Highly recommended.

Where do you go?

About Kathleen Murphy

Australian naturopath and freelance writer, based in Sydney. I love working with people from all walks of life, helping them institute changes that can become life-long health habits. I can be found at Uclinic | 421 Bourke Street, Surry Hills | Ph: 02 9332 0400 |

4 responses »

  1. tessafinneybrown

    It’s so great that your husband is listening to his body.

    All too often, I think some of our biggest problems are created when we’re too dogmatic about a particular way of living, and can’t accept that sometimes our needs will change.

    Congrats to both of you for being so open and conscious.

    Reply
  2. Thanks Tess!

    I too am a big fan of working with what’s right for each person, not just blanket recommendations for all.

    Well, in saying that… I think I would give the blanket recommendation of ‘eat consciously’… but apart from that, go nuts! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Paleo planning « Your health. Your life.

  4. Pingback: Some of my favourite blogs « Your health. Your life.

Leave a Reply

