RSS Feed

The ground beneath our feet.

I have recently begun to develop reconnect with my green thumbs – and through this I’m discovering how therapeutic mucking around in the soil can be. It’s glorious!

I’m a strong advocate of homegrown foods, greenspaces and locavore living, but I’m still a novice in the art of creating this myself. I have an incredibly under-developed ability to nurture a thriving garden – I’m most used to dealing with hardy never-dies (like rosemary, for example) or plants that will persist in wilting, withering and dying (like.. uh.. the rest).

However, several months ago we moved into a home with a glorious garden for me to tinker in – and enough greenery that if a bit of it happened to die off (by accident – not design!) things would still be peachy. Or, for that matter, verdant. Then – as luck would have it – I was given the incredible gift of three flower beds, companion planted with herbs, flowers and various greens. Such an opportunity!

A little garden bed

Now that I’ve had the chance – and time – to turn my hand to gardening, I’ve really begun to appreciate the benefits it can bestow. There is the loveliness of looking out at well-tended (i.e. alive) greenery and flowery sprays; as well as the deep enjoyment of eating completely yummy food made from ingredients grown not 2 metres from the kitchen.

The greatest boon, however, has been the simple and meditative act of tending to the garden itself. There is something incredibly nice about taking time out to water the plants, pull up the weeds, prune back too-crazy growth, puzzle over weird-looking flowers and nurture the weakling plants. Not to mention the fact that digging around in the soil, getting dirt all over my hands and legs, is supremely grounding.

So… let us all make some time to connect with the ground beneath our feet.

About Kathleen Murphy

Australian naturopath and freelance writer, based in Sydney. I love working with people from all walks of life, helping them institute changes that can become life-long health habits. I can be found at Uclinic | 421 Bourke Street, Surry Hills | Ph: 02 9332 0400 |

One response »

  1. What a little green thumb you have. Love your blogs. I’m sure one day again I will discover the garden.! So pleased to hear your little ones are growing up nicely!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

